DSC_0072

I’m all bundled up and out on the ice. I’m carrying my pack today because mom wanted some photos from Bellacam.

DSC_0130 - Copy

We decided to go to the ice caves as soon as they announced that the lake had frozen enough to permit access. The deal is you park at the beach parking lot and walk a mile to the beginning of the caves and then visit all the caves, this would be about a 3 or 4 mile journey.

DSC_0171

However the caves were very very busy, we had to park about a mile and a half from the entrance to the beach access road (cars were only allowed to park on one side of the road) and we ended up hiking 7.9 miles (9 for Auntie, she went ahead to the car while we stopped at the restroom.)

DSC_0178
It’s a pretty straightforward hike, when you get to the bottom of the stairs you can look off to the right and see the beginning of the caves.

DSC_0328

On a busy day you can just follow the parade of people! (There were so many people.)

DSC_0276 DSC_0257

In addition to the fact that Lake Superior hasn’t ice to access the caves for 5 years, there has been a lot of news coverage about the caves and I think no one wanted to miss their chance to see the caves.

DSC_0125 DSC_0323

DSC_0322

We arrived around 1:30 and headed back at 4:00 pm.

DSC_0283 DSC_0215 DSC_0114

DSC_0136 DSC_0160

If I had any advice it would be to just go, even with several thousand people there the ice was awesome to see. There might be fewer people there in the morning but the caves are covered in shadow.

DSC_0135

We would highly recommend some kind of traction aide for your boots, even if there is fresh snow on the ice some of the caves will likely be clear and slick.

DSC_0098

Mom took off one of my front boots so I would have extra traction on the ice and switched halfway through (my back paws are more sensitive to cold, maybe because I’ve had surgery to remove tumors on them).

DSC_0108

Snowshoes would be great if there is new snow or if you want to avoid the crowd by going straight across the to the caves (we did this on the way out, it was tough going without snowshoes).

DCIM100GOPRO

We saw people accessing the caves in all kinds of different ways, snowshoes, cross-country skis, sleds, skijoring, bikes and snowmobiles (but I’m not sure they are actually allowed that near to shore).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos from Bellacam! I’m always very popular on the trail. Some people stop to pet me but most people just comment on something I’m wearing, you know, a camera, a pack, a jacket or the fact that I’m missing a boot.

unnamed

From the Sea Caves wave watch webcam.

Grandpops found the above on the Sea Caves webcam. We think that might be us in the red square.

DSC_0282

Here is a photo mom took around the same time.

DSC_0112

We used my new spot I got as a prize from the CheckpointMN scavenger hunt. It was pretty cool, Grandpops tracked our progress in real time as we were out on the lake and you can see our trip below.

Untitled-1

01 February 2014

Temperature Range 14F to -1F

Hike Length 7.9 Miles

2014 total: 15/250 Miles (We need about 20 miles a month! We’re behind already!)

 

